first build trying to jump into the hobby

iluvspdtt created the topic: first build trying to jump into the hobby

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this thread but here it goes anyway. I'm new here and figure i will start with a short introduction. I was into r/c boats back in middle school but never really had the money for anything good so i started with an airboat with a small nitro airplane motor. I had fun with it but then life took over and i didn't have time for that hobby. Now i have time, and the spare cash. I am a proffesional body tech and painter and have been around boats for most my life. So far all i have is a 25cc homelite engine that my parents claim i brought home back in middle school, last night i picked it up, dumped a little mixed gas in and it started right up on the second pull. I have chose to go with a cat hull made by mountain hobbies, i have a good idea of how to set up the radio and servos and most the hardware. My big question right off the bat is how do i run the flex shaft? I don't believe the square on the output of the engine is 1/4" so I'm not sure what to use and could use some guiding.
Thanks in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Scott replied the topic: Re: first build trying to jump into the hobby

First off ... Welcome to MGB :woohoo:

Please take my statements as just some free wisdom and general FYI from near 35 years running R/C boats ;)

The Homelite engines were for a spell ( Late 1980's - late 90's )used widely in the R/C boat world. These past 10+ years they have all but disappeared from the market replaced by Zenoahs and others.
* Last STRONGHOLD for there use was WAREHOUSE HOBBIES and they may very well still have some support / parts for doing the marine conversions, exhausts etc ....
*** Go to this sites home page and CLICK on the WHH banner ad to go to there site ***